Nice and Toasty…

15 06 2012

My skin is on freakin’ fire! It feels like someone took a match and sand paper to my skin and just went to town. Just scraping away on my skin and roasting me like I am hanging over a fire pit.  Sucks being very fair skinned. I guess this happens when ALL your actives work, home life, etc involves being indoors and you never can get into the sun.  I wasn’t even in the sun for very long yesterday either, which was about an hour weeding the rose garden my mom has.  The sun got me pretty good.  Chest, stomach, shoulders, WHOLE back, arms and alittle on the legs. I think even my lips are burnt!  Oddly yet, my face isn’t burnt. Ugh!  Even drinking my morning coffee seems painful and I have to work later on today, damn it all!

Sadly, I am a pro at this. What I mean by that is, every summer like clock work, I will burn at least twice before any fourm of tan sticks to me. An that is with or without sunscreen. I hate it, but I am use to it. I know what I need to do to quickly shorten the life of this firey torture. Here is how I do it…

  • ALOE:  This cream has been my closest friend since I was a little kid. Every summer we reunite and my firey skin thanks its soothing healing powers. It’s best when you have the aloe bottle in the fridge, so when it touches your skin it helps with the sting. Feels good. An usually I put it on after my shower.  Speaking of which…
  • COLD SHOWERS:  I will always hop into the shower the moment I can. It’s always very import to get all the heat and sting out when you can. So, I lightly soap up to get anything that needs to come off my skin from being outside off and I just stand there as long as I can take it. I don’t mean like luke warm with a light chill to the water, I mean like shivering cold. Trust me, it helps. Granted, depending on the how bad your are burnt, you might have to do this more than once.
  • PAIN KILLERS:  I will take two tylenol to help with some of the pain and the inflamation of the skin. It actuallys helps. Just take as directed on the bottle.
  • DRINKING WATER:  Drink lots and lots of cold water. Rehydrating yourself and your skin with H2O is a must! An it’s best if thats all you drink for the first 24-48 hours. Trust me on this, it slowly helps.  You  have to remember you are warm and so is your skin, so you are slowly dehydrating and you have to replace what you lost/losing.
  • ICING DOWN: What I mean by this is cold packs  or ice. Wrap either one up in a soft towel and put it all over where it hurts the most. Helps getting the heat and sting out faster.  Like the shower, you might have to do this more than once and put on more aloe afterwards each time.

So, there you have it! An I will do this repeatly for 48 hours until the sting and heat is gone. Each person varys, so results are different for everyone, but for me this works. Like right after this, I am going to ice down my skin some more to try to get more of the sting and heat out before work. An shower right before I go to work and slap on lots of aloe, so the discomfort isn’t to bad, while drinking a lot of water at work. Well, time to go ice myself down for the next hour or so, and slowly get ready for work. I will write more tomorrow.. Wish me luck!

-A

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 06 2012
here

It looks to me that this site doesnt load on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks having the same problem? I enjoy this webpage and dont want to have to miss it when Im gone from my computer.

19 06 2012
fadedkitty81

I am sorry you are having such a problem. An I don’t know if others are having the same problem. Don’t fear though, once you get to your computer my entries will be here waiting. 🙂 Something to look forward to I guess! lol

Leave a Reply

