Father’s Day!

17 06 2012

I just off the phone with my dad and I must say, even until this day he is busting his ass. Even though all his kids are grown and out of the house, he is still getting up at 4 in the morning to get things done! When I asked him why he is still “working” and busting his ass doing million of other things and not enjoying his retirement, his response was, “If I slow down I will probably die! So, slowing down and enjoying retirement is not a option!”. The thought of him dying if he were to slow down scares me and I don’t want to even think that, but I am amazed at this man. He has done 28 years of military service and two jobs when he got out of the military, so, for over 50 years this man as gone non-stop. Rain or shine, sick or not sick… he is going to keep busy.  I guess that is where I got my work morals from. I never miss a day of work nor  did I miss a day of school. An to always work for what you want and to save your money!! I am proud to be his daughter and I love that man more than anything! 🙂

When I was growing up, my dad got out of the military when I was about to hit first grade. All I could remember in my first several years of life on this earth were military bases. The sounds of the planes, soldiers doing their monring PT excrises. It was the life that I only knew. Granted, I only lived on one base and other times we lived off base, but my mom, sister and I were always on base either shopping or waiting for my dad to get of duty. I remember one time we just picked up my dad and we were driving home ,when looking out the window of the car (and going 15 mph I might add) I saw a superior chew out a young private, while the rest of the unit continued on with their PT. Those are things I remember. Even until this day, everytime I smell jet fuel or sounds of planes flying over head, it takes me back to when I was little and watching the c-17s and c-130s, even the jets taking off, while hearing in the distance soldiers doing their morning PT or drills. I miss those days.  

So, no matter what your relationship is with your dad, learn from him. Learn from his mistakes and learn from the non-mistakes. An be what he deep down always wanted you to be…better than him. Love him for his flaws and adore him for WHO he is. You only get one dad in this world, make the best of what you got.

So, to all the dads out there….HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! Thank you for what you do and will do.

-A

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

