“Hey Mama”

23 06 2012

I am not much for words today. Just sitting here with my headphones on watching the world go by. Music is to me is like a life line. It’s can say how I feel, think and dream about. I usually use songs to express how I feel when words are at a loss to me. So,  as of right now, as a song from  one of my many, many songs on my mp3 player is oddly enough is what I am in the mood for right at this moment. The song kinda makes me feel like I need to go walking in a busy town down city, like New York or something, and power walk to the song. To only once in a while, dance with some random strangers on corner for a bit, and then wonder off somewhere else. I guess you can say that is my free spirit and adventurous side of me. I know that is odd for a shy person like myself, but music is like a heartbeat, it gets you to move out into this world and live. 

As for the song that is right now streaming into my ears, is a song that makes me want to slightly move to words as I walk and drown out the noises around me.  Below are at least the lyrics to the song. If you like it, look it up on YouTube or iTunes. Enjoy.

“Hey Mama”

By:  Mat Kearney (off the Young Love album)

 She don’t know what she wants to be
With all the picture in the magazines
Holdings hands when she’s mad at me
‘Cause she don’t wanna go, don’t wanna go

I met her at Anthropologie
Purple boots and her golden dreams
Standing there like a Tennessee queen
Singing, don’t look at me, don’t look at me

Singing, oh oh
Won’t you help me sing this song
Singing, ee ee ee
She don’t ever want to go to sleep

Singing, hey mama, I dont want no drama
Just a kiss before I leave
Hey lady, don’t say maybe
You’re the one that I can believe
Hey lover, don’t want no other
Finger for my ring

[Repeat: x4]
Hey mama, hey hey mama

Oh oh

Ooh oh oh oh

Ooh oh oh oh

I can see it in her Cherokee eyes
Those baby brown and golden thighs
What you doing for the rest of your life?
‘Cause you don’t want to go, don’t wanna go

Singing, oh oh
Won’t you help me sing this song
Singing, ee ee ee
She’s playing like a mystery

Singing, Hey mama, don’t want no drama
Just a kiss before I leave
Hey lady, don’t say maybe
You’re the one that I can believe
Hey lover, don’t want no other
Finger for my ring

[Repeat: x4]
Hey mama, hey hey mama

Oh oh

Ooh oh oh oh

Ooh oh oh oh

Couldn’t be more opposite
I’m hard to please and you’re hard to get
You’re Mississippi and I’m Oregon
You’re sun-tanned and I’m porcelain-skinned

Singing, Hey mama, don’t want no drama
Just a kiss before I leave
Hey lady, don’t say maybe
You’re the one that I can believe
Hey lover, don’t want no other
Finger for my ring

[Repeat: x4]
Hey mama, hey hey mama

Oh oh

Ooh oh oh oh

Ooh oh oh oh

-A

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 06 2012
Harry

You should delete Uncategorized and put the posts into a category, also add about 8 / 9 tags TO DO with the post.

4 07 2012
derekeb1

Checked this song out on YouTube! Very cool! Thank you so much for sharing! I love learning about new bands. I will have to find some more songs by Matt Kearney.

6 07 2012
fadedkitty81

You are very welcome! I am glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

