Volunteer Work.

29 06 2012

The things I want people to know and learn about me is, other than being a quiet, yet sarcastic, funny, smart and unique person…I have a passion for helping others. Like volunteering to help out the military. Now, I am a daughter of a former soldier (see my “Father’s Day” entry)  and I have many friends in the military or were in the military.  I have the most deepest respect for those who fight for the right for me to even write a blog to express my thoughts. Basically freedom of speech. Many people who I know ask me a lot, how they could repay back the men and women in the military and I am sure maybe a handful of you guys out there right now are thinking the same. Well, simple, I use two websites that you can go and adopt a soldier and/or adopt a unit/platoon.

Now, I am going to give you these links. An I can not stress enough, to please follow the rules on the websites to the letter.  If you have any questions or concerns, get a hold of me or you get ahold of someone from the websites. I have done this for over a year (took a break for a few after my adoptee came home) so I know what I am doing. So, here are the links….

  •  SoldiersAngels: Good place to adopt individual soldiers to be responsible for and help out, by sending packages and letters. http://www.soldiersangels.org
  • Anysoldiers, Inc:  Now this website is great for when you want to help out a WHOLE unit or platoon with letters and packages.  http://www.anysoldier.com 

:::AGAIN!! PLEASE!!:::  Read ALL the rules CAREFULLY…and the dos and donts of the websites! Please understand this is very important. When you are given the address to the soldier or unit, you are to NEVER EVER give out that address at any cost. It’s for the safety of the soldier/unit…and their families. For more info on that check out the rules.

There you have it. That’s what I do to help out. If I had the money and time I would do a hell of a lot more. I love doing it and it makes me feel good when I get a response back saying, “Thank you” or “You don’t know how much this means to me…”. It’s very rewarding. An who knows, maybe you will at the end of their deployment gain a life long friend or love.

Well, I am working all weekend and I am going places after work with friends, so I will not update this weekend. So, you all enjoy yourselves this weekend and I will update you all on Monday with all the good stuff. 🙂

-A

Actions

Information

One response

4 07 2012
derekeb1

What a great idea. Thank you for the two links. It is very important to help in any way that we can. I am going to school for social work field and have a strong passion for the helping field. I am actually doing volunteer work at a local hospital. Anyhow, great work and thank you for helping our troops.

Leave a Reply

